Leadership and Governance


The Laidlaw Schools Trust (LST) was approved by the DfE as a multi academy sponsor and established on 24th May 2012. The new Trust developed from the single Excelsior Academy Trust, Newcastle upon Tyne, which was formed on 8th March 2006.

The Members of the Laidlaw Schools Trust are:

  • Lord Laidlaw of Rothiemay, founder and sponsor.
  • Peter Fair, Chairman of the Trust & Sponsors’ Representative
  • Graham Robertson

LST has a highly skilled, professional and knowledgeable board of directors who are committed to raising standards and providing outstanding education for the children and families in our communities. They have achieved an Outstanding Judgement for Governance and Financial Management.

Each Academy within LST has its own Local Governing Body (LGB)  of Governors who focus on progress and priorities for their local academy . At least one member of each LGB is also a member of the board of LST Trustees.

Leadership and Management

Each Academy has an autonomous Head Teacher who is supported and challenged by Governors, Directors and Trustees to ensure the best possible outcomes for all pupils in their Academy.

Our emphasis is on enabling and supporting our staff to develop skills and confidence in order to inspire our children and young people to want to learn and to achieve the highest possible standards in all aspects of Academy life.

We recognise the importance of partnerships and expect our Academies to form positive relationships with their local families of schools, Local Authority and all partners who are able to offer support to our pupils.

Presently the Laidlaw Schools Trust has six academies:

  • Atkinson Road Primary Academy
  • Excelsior Academy
  • Thomas Walling Primary Academy
  • Academy 360
  • South Hylton Primary Academy
  • Westgate Hill Primary Academy